reasons why you should get up early

Because coffee is delicious and early bird parking spots are the best.

But if you need a more elaborate argument, read on. This is coming from a night owl who finally learned how to wake up before afternoon o’clock.

…because there is nothing better than sipping a morning beverage in peace and quiet. I do coffee. You might do tea. A hot chocolate definitely has a place here. Brew, sip, think. Letting the day start slowly rather than harried has done wonders for my mental health.

…because you’ll have an endless supply of with-it-ness. Did you know that while studying education, I’ve actually seen the term “with-it-ness” appear in the academic literature? Teachers just have to have it. Have to be on the ball. Be able to multitask. Manage a professional and personal life without missing a beat. So do most professionals. So get up, get organized, and get out the door on time.

…because it allows for more free time in your day. I spend about 30 minutes browsing Instagram, Bloglovin’, and Twitter in the morning, usually while lounging in my covers. It feels lazy but I have time for it because I get up early. Building in the amount of free time that I want helps me choose to do more important things later in the day, like writing this blog post instead of marathoning three Parks and Rec reruns between class.

…because you just get more done. Like making your bed, slashing through your to do list, updating your blog, killing it at work, a coffee break with a good friend, and a quick living room spruce.  Sleep the day away or achieve your dreams. Do it to it!

P.S. On a related note, Joy the Baker and Tracy Shutterbean shared their number one tip for waking up early on the Joy The Baker Podcast. Love those girls!

3 thoughts on “reasons why you should get up early

  1. Jesse

    I love waking up early..i cant get all my studying done in the morning and enjoy the rest of my day off .. its awesome 😀

    Reply
    1. goodbyebernadette Post author

      I totally agree. It’s the best habit I have these days. Although I find that when I do wake up late I’m not nearly as good at flying out the door as I was when I woke up late all. the. time!

      Reply
      1. Jesse

        Ohhh i agree.. i guess our body is used to the new routine. The same thing happens to me. My day is not as great if i get up late.

Say hello and leave a comment!

