i’m going to cut all of my hair off…

…and I want your opinion!

Here’s the situation. One of my 2013 goals is to get to the salon and have my hair done. If this seems like a simple goal, well, consider the fact that I typically only get to the salon once a year. I get it cut and then try my best to not mess it up while trimming my bangs here and there. It’s a time and a money thing. (Wes was surprised to find that a good lady-hair-cut runs $30 plus. And of course by good, I mean I don’t run out of the salon crying!)

So yeah. It’s on my list of goals and I am starting to think about fulfilling it. However, instead of heading to the salon and asking for my typical long layers, I am *this close* to committing to a huge change–a pixie cut or a chin-length bob.

I’m considering such a drastic change not because I completely dislike my long hair. I do have a love/hate relationship with it, though. I love how beautiful it looks when styled smooth and straight. It’s so romantic feeling. For the time that my locks have made it to my bra-strap and beyond, I’ve had more good hair days then ever before. I’ve figured out how my hair works and looks best, at least at this length. But I hate how long it takes to style in the mornings–a minimum of 45 minutes when I shower. It gets caught in Wes’ armpits when we sleep. It rips out when it gets wound in my purse strap and I’m not paying attention. It gets caught in my car door. For as beautiful as it is sometimes, it’s equally high-maintenance and frustrating.

High-maintenance. You know what that phrase does not jive with? The fact that Wes and I will be backpacking through Europe for two weeks come May 2013. This long awaited honeymoon will consist of 5 countries in 14ish days, not a second of which I want to waste doing my hair. We worked the numbers: 45 minutes a day (assuming I get to shower, which many not be the case, and the lack of which always results in a big rat’s nest) for 14 days is about a half a day lost to vanity. And here’s the other thing: I hardly want to do my hair stateside, with huge American bathrooms and outlets designed for my blow dryer. I highly doubt I’ll find myself creating those glossy locks every morning. And to be frank, my hair looks terrible at this length if I don’t blow it out. It’s too tangly and too heavy for my natural wave to show through. And gosh–then there’s the bangs that are an entirely separate beast come morning.

Yikes. I need a solution. The only solution I see right now is to chop-it-the-heck off.

(Granted, I do realize that a short ‘do will require some styling too–I’m just trying to eliminate a 30 minute dry time in the AM.)

But I’m scared! My long hair is so safe and comfortable. I need you to help me be bold! I need you to tell me that hair grows and that I’ll love it and that it will be such a fun experience, and that the pixie is the way to go. Or is it the bob? How about this: vote!

Here are examples of each cut I would take to my stylist for inspiration. Check out the poll on this post and vote “The Ginnifer” if you think the pixie is the way to go, or vote “The Katie” if you like bob better.

photo source: Ginnifer/Katie

I’ll keep you updated on the results, and will hopefully be brave enough to stick with whichever ‘do wins!

5 thoughts on “i’m going to cut all of my hair off…

  1. ginandhoney

    I started with a bob, but I got a pixie cut yesterday and the second I saw myself in the mirror, I knew it was the right haircut for me – plus it’s entirely NO maintenance! I’d recommend it and I think it would look great on you.

    Reply
  2. bepcity

    Those are both good choices – I think either would look great on you! I’ve never had a pixie, but it does seem like it would be more fun to style even with the minimal maintenance. I’ve had bobs before and wasn’t very good at coming up with different ways to wear it! Have fun!

    Reply
  3. Chanele

    Thats a hard one, but id say do the bob and see how you like it. You can always do pixie after. If you go pixie first and you dont like it then youre kinda screwed

    Reply
  4. lifebyrico

    Go big or go home, girl! I know you and your brave self can handle going straight for the pixie cut! It will look lovely, adorable, sexy, and fun on you! It fits your personality so well and will wear amazingly well with your style (and little maintenance or shampooing if need be in Europe)! Hair always grows back and if you think about it, it will be healthier and even grow back quicker the shorter you go!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: début | Goodbye Bernadette

Say hello and leave a comment!

