these are a few of my favorite things // bea

There is nothing in this world I love so much as words. I love words. My room is overflowing with books…I can’t leave home without a book in my purse…I carry with me a notebook with a list of my favorite words…true story!

The way I see it, there are so many words worth knowing and my list acts as a reminder of the possibilities of speech.

Also, I love poetry. Poems are spectacular, really. I love how they are simple on the outside, but after reading them for awhile, you begin to discover the complexities of them. Isn’t that cool?

Here are some of my favorite poems, plus one of my own!

The Road Not Taken

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

I took the one less traveled by,

and that has made all the difference.

-Robert Frost

This isn’t the entire poem. It’s  simply the part that means the most to me. This serves to remind me to live as a I go, and to listen to my internal GPS  (my heart!) because it will get me where I need to be in life.

____

Application For A Driving License

Two birds loved

in a flurry of red feathers

like a burst cottonball,

continuing while I drove over them.

I am a good driver, nothing shocks me.

– Michael Ondaatje

____

All Things Pass

All things pass

A sunrise does not last all morning

All things pass

A cloudburst does not last all day

All things pass

Nor a sunset all night

All things pass

What always changes?

Earth…sky…thunder…

mountain…water…

wind…fire…lake…

These change

And if these do not last

Do man’s visions last?

Do man’s illusions?

Take things as they come

All things pass

-Lao-Tzu

____

Grown-Up

Was it for this I uttered prayers,

And sobbed and cursed and kicked the stairs,

That now, domestic as a plate,

I should retire at half-past eight?

Edna St. Vincent Millay

____

A Minor Bird

I have wished a bird would fly away,

And not sing by my house all day;

Have clapped my hands at him from the door

When it seemed as if I could bear no more.

The fault must partly have been in me.

The bird was not to blame for his key.

And of course there must be something wrong

In wanting to silence any song.

Robert Frost

____

Decrepit Words Are Better Than Dusty Ones

Dear boy, you’ve got to know,

in rain or in snow

you should read- you must!

Or words, so neglected,

will turn into dust!

– yours truly

A few years back (I think I was 14) I wrote this poem (which I so cleverly named!)  with the hope that it would entice my little nephew to read more. I don’t think it helped.

____

If you’re looking to expand your library of poetry, I recommend Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets Series. You can find Robert Frost, Emily Bronte, W.H Auden, William Blake, Rudyard Kipling, and many, many more!

xo, bea

Say hello and leave a comment!

